I just got arrested for a DUI! What happens next?
What to do after you get arrested for a DUI
Getting arrested for a DUI in the Bay Area can be a scary experience, especially when you are unsure what will happen next.
Here’s a rundown of what your first steps should be after a DUI arrest:
1.Call the Bay Area Law Center: Although defendants (ie. people going to court to fight a DUI charge) have the option of representing themselves, it’s best to work with an experienced DUI attorney who is knowledgeable in California law and will be your advocate during this stressful time.
2. Review Your License Suspension Case with Your Attorney: After a DUI arrest in California, the DMV automatically conducts an administrative review to determine the length of your license suspension. If you’re over the age of 21 and this is your first DUI, it’s likely that your license will be suspended without a proper defense. If you have prior offenses, the suspension may be longer. Depending on the circumstances of each individual case, you may be granted a restricted license during the suspension period. However, you and your attorney can fight the DMV’s license suspension decision.
3. Your Attorney Will Request a DMV Hearing: Within 10 days of your arrest, you have the right to request a hearing from the DMV to challenge a license suspension order. Deadlines are extremely important in the driver’s license defense, so if you miss the 10 day window to request a hearing, your license is automatically suspended and it is difficult to reopen the case without good cause.
4. Your Attorney Will Appear at Your Arraignment Court Date: After being released from jail, you will be issued an arraignment court date. This is separate from the DMV hearing. You, or your attorney, must show up to court on that date or risk having the judge issue a warrant for your arrest. Appearing before a judge can be nerve wrecking, but having a lawyer from the Bay Area Law Center on your side will ensure that your freedom is protected, and that the hearing goes smoothly. The lawyer will also help you with necessary paperwork and explain each step of the DUI proceeding. In most cases, your lawyer can represent you at your first hearing without you being present. Your attorney will also work with the District Attorney in an effort to overturn or reduce your DUI charges under California law.
You don’t have to face your DUI arrest alone. The experienced attorneys at the Bay Area Law Center have a deep understanding of California DUI laws and can help you through the next steps of the legal process to ensure you are given the best representation. Call our attorneys at (408) 816-2311 for a free consultation